Responsive image

2022 Warriors League: Curro crowned champs!

Curro Krugersdorp's U/19 team crowned champs in one of South Africa’s biggest 7s tournaments for schools.

Curro Krugersdorp’s under 19 team won the biggest prize on offer in sevens for schools by being crowned champs of this year’s Warriors League. They beat Curro Aurora 17–12 after leading at half time 12–5.


The champions are top row left to right Willem Swanepoel, Marko Jonker, Wesley Parsons, Alwyn Hollenbach and Lodi Olivier. Middle row left to right: Tshepang Khuduge, Lev Pillay, Ayikwei Nii-armah, Steven Engelsman, Jacques Prinsloo, Aiden Kotze, Reynhardt Kruger, Jarred Blamire, Ethan Chipps and Ruben Cordier. Bottom row left to right: Waiden Fransman, Neo Mabela and Jason Damons.
Photo: Jaco Prinsloo.


The Warriors League is said to be the biggest sevens tournament in South Africa with age groups from under 9 to under 19 for boys and girls, with the most participating schools in a tournament over a period of four consecutive Saturdays.

Trinityhouse Little Falls were the proud hosts. More than 27 schools and 110 teams played against each other every Saturday and on Saturday, May 28, they hosted the finals of this prestigious league. Participating schools in the Curro group were Northriding College, Curro Aurora, Curro Thatchfield, Curro Serengeti, Waterstone College, Curro Academy Wilgeheuwel, and Curro Klerksdorp.

Three other age groups also represented Curro Krugersdorp in the tournament namely the U/14s, U/15s and U/16s. Both the U/14s and U/16s reached the Cup Final while the U/15s reached the Plate Final and of course the first team crowned champs.


Original article:

2022 Warriors League: Curro crowned champs! | Krugersdorp News